Oakenwald School

1910 Student Body with Teacher Mary Ray.

Pictured are, standing L-R Marie Broers Obert, Herman Elbert, Frank Broers, Charles (Tip) Broers, Clara Baggs Robertson, Lillian Elbert Waldschmidt, Kate Heininger Kerker, Lillian Ahrens Crawford, Elsie Baggs, Ely Rohman and Florence Elbert Seckler Ahrens. Seated are L-R Ed Heininger, Reynold Butte, Julius Gardner, Helen Butte, Ernest Gardner, Elmer Baggs, Marie Ahrens Griffeths, Susan Ahrens Kammerer and Bena Heininger DuBois.

Note that some of the students are bare footed.

The school building still stands today. It has been remodeled into a residence.

Oakenwald School

District 36

Partridge Township


History and photos submitted by Shirley A. Adams.

Back to Parks
Send any old photos and related stories concerning the Metamora Village Park to Metamora Association for Historic Preservation, PO Box 264, Metamora, IL 61548.

Home // Membership // Stevenson Home Project // Marketplace // Newsletters // Metamora History // History Resources // Events // Prominent People // Yesteryears // Parks